When I started participating (personally and professionally) in social media circa 1999 I made myself a promise.  Authenticity would be my mainstay. Not rudeness or belligerent rants… but posts that are true of me (or my clients as I understand them). My bent would be positivity – or at least in the direction of growth and positive change for people who wanted it.  To that end, I am a purist. I get irritated by people who only spew out negativity – I am also sad that they are so filled with it, that’s all they have to give.

If social media focusses on the SOCIAL I think we are heading in a good direction.  But when it gets boiled down to math and automation without relationship…well, now I am pissed off.  Granted, it’s YOUR social media.  Do what you want with it, but PLEASE, for the love of humanity, leave me out of it.

This may even be a ‘break up letter’ to Twitter.  No Twitter, it’s not you. And it’s not me.  It’s THESE GUYS:

Screenshot 2015-04-27 10.48.11

Screenshot 2015-04-27 10.49.15

Screenshot 2015-04-27 10.48.51

Screenshot 2015-04-27 10.48.58

What’s going on here?  Well, @smashfit and I are best friends. No, not really.  But I like and respect her professionally and sometimes we tweet back and forth. (I think she likes me, too!) This is genuine conversation.  Having my tweet (and my twitter handle) RT’d all over MAY be good for my KLOUT score, it may be good for my ‘rankings’ but…if it’s empty, soulless math and automation, I do not want it.

Is BestSportQ so lacking in sports quotes that they have to resort to retweeting an @ conversation between me and smashfit… TWICE!?!?!  I mean there is zero context.  No value to their subscribers.  If they think we are awesome and should be followed, then perhaps using an itty-bitty bit of real life thought would look like this: “@bethkolar and @smashfit are awesome fitness twitter accounts.  Good info. Sometimes funny. #FF” or something more truthful. 😉 Is that SO hard?  Or are we just highjacking other’s tweets so we can tweet a more popular name like @smashfit and gain access to their followership? Come on, guys.  We can SO do better than that.  Give me something real.  please.

Then there’s THIS:

Screenshot 2015-04-27 10.48.37

Ad nauseum.  What IS this?? Why does it exist??? GAH! (Screams and shakes fists at the Twitter gods in the sky, “WHY? WHY, do you allow this!?”)

Don’t get me wrong.  It’s super nice to thank people! Even in public! But when it’s only self-serving without ANY context… it’s air garbage.  It takes up my time and my feed.  Then…when it’s exactly the same as other accounts? Come on, guys…. what are you DOING?  Did you hire someone to do this for you? Get your money back. Wait, maybe you want to appear inauthentic and without the ability to create real content.  In that case… carry on. Job well done.

So, there it is.  These are MY rules.  You may think they are stupid and your methods may be getting you the results you want.  (I bet you have awesome spreadsheets to show your boss). But you do not have my respect.  You do not make it easy for me TO respect you and I really WANT to.  That is why I went to your account to SEE what’s going on.  To review your output.  Bleh.  So, now I gotta go see if I can block you or whatever, cause, yeah… we are breaking up.  AND we never even went out ONCE!

About bethkolar

Owner at Center-Fit Kettlebell Club, TeamSnap Support, BodyCombat instructor, Social Media professional, Photographer

Leave a Reply

