(this blog post is mostly for my fitness friends… but it may just apply to you as well)

Let me just get this out… If someone has asked you to blog, there are most likely more people interested in reading that blog than that one person. I have several times asked someone who has commented on a blog post of mine “where did you find me?” (I don’t do very good job at S EO work and I don’t advertise, so I’m always surprised when someone finds me! ) The answer is often “wow. I’ve been following you for years! Or I found you when you authored a tech blog 10 years ago. (that always really surprises me because I don’t think I’m very good at Tech!)

Anyway, let’s break it down…

Common reasons you’re not blogging.

1. You’re afraid that you will sound stupid.

2. You don’t have any ideas.

3. You’re not a good writer.

4. You can’t remember to blog. You know, you started at least one blog and “never kept it up.”

5. You don’t really believe people want to hear what you have to say. I mean, really, aren’t there much better people blogging already?

6. No time. “You have no idea how busy i am!”

7. Insert your lame, or not-so-lame excuse here.

Me blowing your excuses out of the water.

1. On sounding stupid: You probably will sound stupid. Sometimes. You may not know what you’re talking about, as much as someone else on that topic. But chances are you’ll sound really smart and get valuable information to your audience. And when you do get something wrong you’ll correct it and your audience will be that much smarter.

2. No ideas: Yes you do. Stop saying that. Every time you’re on the floor you see someone doing some exercise in a ridiculously stupid way. Talk about how to do that exercise well. Film you doing it well. Film your client doing it well.

3. Not a good writer: This is highly likely. Don’t worry about it. People still want to hear what you say, even if you’re not eloquent.

4. Tried and failed: Seriously? You’re going to use “past failure” as your excuse to not do something? Would you EVER let a client to pull that on you?

5. No one wants to hear from ME: I would say, “get over yourself.” If someone has said they want something, who are you to say that they don’t really want it? The truth is more likely YOU don’t want that. For all the aforementioned reasons.

6. Too busy:  I DO know how busy you are. Well, actually I don’t because I don’t even know most of you reading this… So let me just say I am VERY busy. (4 gyms, 3 blogs, 20 training clients, 14 classes/week, 2 social media clients, the occasional photography gig, 7 grandkids, 3 live with me….there’s more, but I get bored) I like being very busy. If you don’t like being busy, change something.

7. Other excuses: Your excuse is lame.

Me fixing your excuses. Solutions:

1. Tips for not sounding stupid:

  • Only say what you can actually verify. If you can’t verify it, make sure that you state that it’s your opinion. See? You already sound smarter!
  • Use short sentences. If you use a big professional specific term, include the Laymans term for it. Or link to Wikipedia or other relevant content.
  • Nearly everyone has a smart friend. Have them proofread your post before you set it out.
  • Be prepared to learn as you go.

2. Getting ideas or finding them…

  • Use your notes section of your phone to keep track of things that irritate you. Those make great blog posts. They irritate other people too!
  • Put a jar in your group fitness room. Ask your class members to write down one topic they’d like to hear from you on. I would include “preferably not sex” …unless of course you want to write on sex. But mostly because they will laugh at it!
  • Watch. When you’re training clients, or instructing classes watch for common mistakes. Right about how to fix those why they’re bad and why fixing them is good.
  • Pay attention when you read. Nine times out of 10, I read something and find it irritates me! Or it resonates with me… Right about that. Link back to their original content. If possible

3. Not a good writer:

  •  It’s my personal opinion that there aren’t many GOOD writers. But that doesn’t stop anyone else! Not even me! For the record I think I’m fair to middling… But, obviously, I’m too busy to fix that. I learned as I grow.
  • Here’s the deal, most people that like you attending your classes or our training with you already like the way you talk. Just right the way you talk. Your job is to relate to people not to dazzle them with your writing skills.
  • You can also revisit number one’s fix.

4. Past failures. Forgetting to blog:

  • If you can remember to show up for appointments. You can remember to blog. That should actually go in “other lame excuses”.
  • Set a calendar appointment that pings to your phone.
  • Right it on your paper calendar, if you’re one of THOSE people.
  • Have your best friend call you to remind you to blog.

5. Others are better then me at this:

  • Yes. There actually are better writers with more experience and intellect, writing on the same topics. But I promise you very few, maybe even no one, has the same experience and slant you have. They also don’t have your audience. And your audience is who is looking for you. (It is also possible that you are an amazingly brilliant writer with higher intellect and more experience than anyone else and your huge audience is just waiting to hear from you… What about that?!)

6. Making time :

  • Dictate your blog posts to your phone while you drive. Or while doing other mundane and tasks that don’t require much thought. I’m not saying driving doesn’t require much thought but we talk in the car all the time, don’t we?
  • Use small chunks of time to write down blog ideas or main points to specific blogs
  • Sunday evening. Or whenever your rest day maybe… Don’t tell me you’re in fitness and don’t have a designated rest day!? That may just spur a blog post from me!
  • I know you’ve heard this before… “You find time for the things that are important to you.” Revisit above if you don’t understand that this is important to you.

7. Past failures.

  • Oh yeah, right, I couldn’t used to do a push-up either. Maybe I should never ever try again.
  • The simplicity of how our body works is often a great analogy for how the rest of the world works. If you lift to failure, breaking down the muscles, they have to rebuild and are thereby stronger. Apply that to your brain. Work to failure. Learn something, repair, and start at it again.

8. Your other lame excuses. Just stop.

  • It could be that you actually don’t understand the importance of social media in the fitness industry. Let’s revisit oxytocin… Oxytocin is the feel-good or love hormone. It’s also been attributed to why you ‘fall in love with your instructor.’ “…you are working out, oxytocin kicks in, you look at your instructor, and voilà a match made in heaven!” At its most basic form, blogging is you capitalizing on what oxytocin started.  NO, not an affair with your class members, well at least not THAT kind.  It keeps your audience engaged with you when they already love you. They probably love you for other reasons as well, but I said at its most base form, it’s chemicals.
  • You know stuff other people don’t know. Your audience, your clients, already like the way you relate to them. They want more of that. Them staying engaged with you creates opportunities. Opportunities for them to share your content and for you to gain more clients. The opportunity for your clients to benefit more fully from the things that you’ve been telling them in person. Reinforcement.

    So, do it for money, do it for love, just do it!

About bethkolar

Owner at Center-Fit Kettlebell Club, TeamSnap Support, BodyCombat instructor, Social Media professional, Photographer

Leave a Reply

